Ruminations

As I read all of the blog posts and articles reminiscing over the past year and getting me all hyped for the new year (snicker), I have come to my yearly contemplation of …….

WAIT FOR IIIIIIIIIIIIT....
WAIT FOR IIIIIIIIIIIIT….

Freakin’ New Year’s resolutions, dawg.  They’re kind of a big pain in the butt.  Think of something you want to change (a.k.a. admit I’m not perfect–pshaaw) pretend you actually care about it for a whole two weeks (maybe just two days) and then start all over fifty weeks later when you are in almost the exact same position.

Don’t get me wrong, there are some people out there who really need to get some stuff sorted out.  But, for reals, don’t kid yourself.  It’s rude.  It’s annoying.  And maybe a little–

Brittany.

Ah, yes.  Where are my manners?

Honestly, it’s not that I don’t think change will be good, it’s that I don’t see why this will be different from any other year.

But I suppose it’s all about looking back and seeing what you don’t like and going forward with the promise of…. hope?  Change?  Betterment?  (Is that a thing?)  You hear it over and over again, “be the change you want to see”, “make the change happen”, and whatever Obama’s slogan was…  And BASICALLY what it comes down to is whether or not you want to do it.  Maybe you want the change, but are you willing to put forth the effort to make that change.  Maybe if you’re not able to put forth the effort you aren’t ready to have that change in your life.

With that little diatribe in mind (and I was preaching to the choir here), maybe resolutions aren’t as cracked and whacked as I make them out to be sometimes.  Maybe, this little query of mine is something that has been put in my mind for a reason.  Perhaps it’s time for CHANGE.  (Was that Obama’s slogan?  Kind of to the point.)  Maybe it’s time I really looked at what needs to be changed, what needs to be revised, what needs to be fixed.  And I need to put forth the effort to get myself there.  Otherwise, I’m just stagnant water.  And if you guys don’t know, that means I would become like the swamp monster or something cuz I’d just have a bunch of algae growing out of my…. pores.

Ain't nobody got time for that!
Ain’t nobody got time for that!

And with that I bid you, adieu.  (Is that right, Nanners?)

Leave a Reply

