Phatt’s Night Out

Before I get into the amazing, harebrained night my siblings and I had, I would like to make a quick update.  Remember in my last post how I said I wouldn’t be able to reenlist even if I wanted to because we couldn’t have all the adults in our new apartment being full-time students?  Well, turns out the family’s income is too much to qualify anyways.  Which of course means that we won’t be moving there anymore; which of course means I won’t be put in that situation.  When I heard that today, I couldn’t help but ask God what he’s playing at.  And maybe a couple more signs at where I should be going within the next few months.  But, it’s like I’ve always said:  Don’t eat the last marshmallow.

With that said, on to the fun stuff.  Every Friday night in our family is considered family night.  Of course, we have to behave ourselves.  For the past month or so, my brother and I have gone to the dollar theatre to watch a movie, occasionally with Hannah coming with.  Hannah used to go with us all the time we went to the theatre, but recently she had been showing interest in going and then backing out saying she was tired, or didn’t feel good, or didn’t want to see the movie.  Tonight, however, Hannah came.  And it was amazing.  It felt like reuniting.  I’m sure you’re wondering about the whole Phatts-thing.  Well, the youngest three are called the Stooges.  And us older three are called the Phatts.  It’s kind of childish if you stop to think about it.  A 13, 15, and 19 year old, giving themselves a nickname…. A kind of lame one at that, but that’s why you’re not supposed to think about it at all.  Because if you keep thinking about it, you realize how much of a child I really am, and I’m one of those people that just doesn’t really grow up.  So quit thinking right now.  Right now.

I digress.  Phatt’s reunitation!!!!  I was super excited when Hannah showed interest in coming in the first place.  She’s been grounded recently, and neither she nor I was sure whether or not she could come.  But, because we have smart and sympathetic parents, she was indeed allowed to be in my custody for a couple of hours to come with us.  And even if she changed her mind and decided she didn’t want to come, I probably would have dragged her out the door anyway.  She has been way too reclusive for my liking.  But, thank God, she came of her own will.

So, the Phatts went off to the theater singing Bohemian Rhapsody at the top of our lungs.  Vibrating the glass with our awesomeness.  Well, Hannah and I sang.  Nathaniel watched in awe, and maybe a little fear.  After getting there on time to actually see the beginning of the movie for the first time EVER, we watched Hotel Transylvania.  Which was hilarious by the way.  And as I told by brother, “five times” according to him, it has one of my dream casts.  Definitely one for all ages that you just have to see.  It was great to see Hannah laughing at something besides me falling because I wore socks.

After the movie, we got back in the car (as most people do after walking out of the theater) and cranked up the music.  As we are driving down the theater, we start dancing and singing along.  At one point we were even bobbing our head in a sychronized way.  (No worries you grown-up people, I kept my hands on the steering wheel.)  Then we come to the stop light.  And I take the opportunity of a red light to look towards Hannah and sing my heart out and dance my heart out to some really stupid song with no real meaning, only to have the guy stopped next to us in a minivan start staring at me.  At which point, Hannah turns around–guess she wanted to see what I was looking/laughing at–and I really ham it up.  I go wild and smile real big for him.  I sort of hoped he would start dancing too.  But he just kept staring.  So I faced the front and sang and dance at the stop light in hopes I would make it turn green instead.

So, there are a few things that you can take away from this story tonight.

  1. The Phatts are unstoppable and will cause spotaneous awesomeness and joy where ever we go.  As long as we are complete with all three parts.
  2. I cannot be in a car with my sister without getting really hyper.
  3. If you see a strange, young, attractive woman dancing and singing and smiling:  humor her, dang it.
  4. Nathaniel does not sing anything outside of the word “pinecone”.  (And it makes me chuckle and giggle.)
  5. Hannah is the battery of the Phatts.
  6. Brittany is the of _______ the Phatts.
  7. Nathaniel is the _______ of the Phatts.

Feel free to fill in the blanks.  Feel free to dance and sing spotaneously.  Feel free to spread your joy with the random strangers around you.  And feel free to be a child.

Toodles, poodles.

As Nathaniel always says, "Banana."
As Nathaniel always says, “Banana.”
2 thoughts on “Phatt’s Night Out

    1. Thanks so much for your approval little brother. It makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside… oh, wait, since when did you become the superior blogger? Suuuuhhhhhhh….. Mwahahahahahahahaha. Welcome to the blogging world son!!!

Leave a Reply

