I waited for you today. I did. I know you saw me, yet I could not see you. But still I waited. I waited. With my old and battered houseshoes covering my mismatches socks. In my work pants and pajama shirt. Perhaps that is why you did not come. I had a bad day. I had a bad week, bad month, season and year. I needed you to come. I waited for you today. I waited on my old faded couch. It’s on the trailer to be thrown out, but it never will be. I waited. I tried to be patient. I tried to be calm. I counted stars, only to find they were airplanes. But still I waited. I sang a song to a different tune. But still you did not come. So, I relit my pipe. I drew upon my last nerve and put my weary and houseshoed feet upon the cold ground. I walked toward the gate. I took baby steps. I sang my sad little song. I smoked my pipe. Halfway there, I waited for you. I waited until the stray cat came. Then I knew you weren’t coming. I knew it wouldn’t happen. But still, I moved forward. In my work pants and faded pajama shirt, I moved forward. My pipe started to go out. I walked faster. I paused only once. I waited for you today. I stood in the dark outside my fence. I stood in my old houseshoes covering my mismatched socks. I stood in my work pants and faded pajama shirt. I stood, and I waited. I waited for you even when you weren’t coming. I waited for you even when you weren’t coming and I knew it. I waited so long my pipe went out. I waited so long my tears dried in their tracks. And then I stopped waiting. I turned my back and went inside. I never once looked back. I waited for you and you weren’t there. I turned my back and went back to the TV noise. I went back and locked up. I went back to my cramped but organized room. Because I waited for you today. I waited for you, and you didn’t come. I know you saw me, yet you didn’t come. I waited for you today. And then I turned my back. I did.

One thought on “Midnight

Leave a Reply

