The Mishap of All Mishaps

Put your seat belt on, this is one ride that could leave you scarred.

My cousin and I had gone to Borger to pick up her friend who was going to stay the night with us. On the way back, our conversation got turned to Fast and Furious. Rather, they were talking about the movies, I’d never seen them and didn’t care to. But, all the same, it turned my brain to action movies. Particularly ones where there is a need to jump out of moving vehicles. I’m sure you all know where this is headed.

“I’ve always wanted to jump out of a moving vehicle.”

They laugh and I laugh. Shelby comes to a stop and me being me, I open the door and put my foot out. She didn’t realize I was halfway out of the car, though let me tell you, I had no intention of actually getting out of the car, and sped off.

Inertia is a powerful thing. My foot must have built up quite a bit of inertia to the ground because next thing I know, my whole body is sliding across the asphalt. Our friend Laci, said she looked back and saw my knee sort of buckle and me falling out of the car.

I remember the fall in slow motion, my foot dragging some, my other leg falling out, the lunge forward the slide on my arm, my face hitting the ground. Then, nothing.

I laid there for a second until my tongue found an anomaly. Yup. I had lost one of my front teeth. I look up quickly and see my tooth lying in front of me with the root attached. I grab it and stand up quickly. I run to the car freaking out. I looked like a hillbilly and I knew it. Shelby was worried because apparently there was a big bump on my head or something, but I didn’t feel it, so it must not have been too bad. I mean, come on!!!!! I HAD LOST MY TOOTH.

One tooth over, and this was what my mouth looked like.
One tooth over, and this was what my mouth looked like.

After a lot of me freaking out, we went to the ER. The doctor shoved my tooth back in (without telling me, mind you) and told me to go to the dentist the next day. I stayed up all that night to make sure it wouldn’t fall out again and went to the dentist the next day.

I have all my own teeth still. I have crazy bad road burn on my left arm, left foot, right ankle, and my right knee. I’ve got some road burn and a nasty laceration on my nose. I have a fat lip, and it turns out I did have quite a bump above my right eye. It has road burn over it too. I also bit my upper lip somehow. But, my tooth was put back in, so it’s all good.

Moral of the story, you can’t even pretend to do stunts on TV. You’ll end up doing the real thing. And look like a hillbilly.

Stay classy my friends and remember, safety first!!!

My new career.
My new career.
4 thoughts on “The Mishap of All Mishaps

  1. I chipped one of my front teeth when I was 10, and when the replacement for it fell out after another accident a year later, I said hell with it. I’ve been going 25 years now with only one top front tooth…. but it’s literally the only thing I’ve ever had to see a dentist for. I must be doing something right….

    1. Oh my goodness!!!! That sounds horrible! Hahaha. I take so good care of my teeth now. I really appreciate them now that I know what it’s like to go without. Were you playing baseball?

      1. Well, whiffleball! My friend’s little nephew made a mud puddle with the hose in front of what we were using as home plate, and I slipped trying to turn a triple into an inside the park homer. Fell flat on my back. I got up and tried to walk it off, but wound up fainting, and falling face first on the narrow strip of sidewalk running down his backyard! Just my luck…

Leave a Reply

