Yeah, no. That title was not a typo. Jerks. Sitting there thinking that, “Here’s an editor who can’t spell family right!” HA! Jokes on you, jokers. It’s a pun.  (But not a very punny one.)

So, I’ve come to the conclusion that I may have lost my humor somewhere growing up. Shoot.

Anyways…. So this past weekend was spent with some of my favorite people in the whole wide world. Who would be so lucky? Well, my best friends and their kid, Clouse. For those of you who have read the book (I’m looking out and seeing, nope. None of you.), you would know that Clouse is in our book as well. Actually Clouse, the kid, is named after Clouse, the character. Fun fact. I digress, so the kiddo has a birthday coming up and we celebrated this weekend. He loved Thomas the Train so we decorated his room, had jello cake (not shots), and scared him by suddenly bursting into song (Happy Birthday Song).  It was loads of fun, and being basically a child in a fat, woman body, it almost felt like my birthday.

I ended up staying two extra nights, thank goodness I took an extra vacation day, and got to spend quality time with a family I consider family. These guys have been with me through some pretty ugly times, especially recently. They always listen to my groans and pains whether they are justified or not, and normally have a sassy comment to let me have too.  They are always ready to party with me, and basically they aren’t friends who just ghosted after high school. Yeah, we’ve been friends that long.

I’m feeling particularly blessed right now to have such amazing friends to always be able to count on. I feel blessed to be able to be around during their milestones, and I can’t wait for more to come. Obviously we hit a bit of a milestone ourselves recently releasing a book. Yeah, this book may not make me a JK Rowling, or David a Stephen King, but it makes us happy. And personally I feel proud. But I think the best benefit I have found in releasing this book is that I have found yet another way to come a little closer to the people that I can always rely on. They don’t even have to help me out, we aren’t really related!!

Because I was asked to help out with this book, I can see myself doing something I actually love for the rest of my life. And it is going to be a struggle to get to work tomorrow. I’ve been thinking of a good reason to call in for the rest of the week all day. (Earthquake trapped me in a Dairy Queen?) I want to be able to just set my desk up in David’s office and work on writing. On his writing, on the other book I have been so graciously bestowed with editing, on maybe a little of my own, and even the marketing and promotion of these books. It’s been so fun. I enjoyed every minute of it. I was working with my best friend and doing one of my favorite things ever. It really made me realize, I don’t have to live with the fear that I’m going to hate what I do forever. If I really work at this, I could do this.

Today my dad jokingly called me a starving artist. I don’t think I’ve ever been prouder of a label. And I’ve been labeled a lot. (Side note: Parents are proud too = maybe less chores? Hint, hint.) My framily has always been there for me. We have fed off of each other and helped each other out. And now they have done my a huge favor and I don’t even think they know it. I haven’t felt this fulfilled and optimistic since I was five. Dad had made me a burrito to eat after kindergarten instead of a sandwich.

My purpose of this post was to talk about the great time I had this weekend and how much I love my friends. I guess I sort of did in a way. If anyone could hit me in the head with a frying pan and give me the light bulb that shows me what I love to do, it would be them. I’m really excited moving forward, and I’m ready to show you people my artistry. Sort of. I mean, the last three blog posts have been all about the same thing basically. But I do have a really good idea for my next one to get me out of the rut. I’m just really excited about writing and being a grammar Nazi!!

Last thing, David and I posted the video to explain the book and answer some basic questions about it. Go look it up on our page! Like the video, or at least our writing page!!!

Keep it classy, folks!

2 thoughts on “Framily Time

Leave a Reply

